Breaking News

Dechencholing Nazheon and Sarpang Strikers in Womanโ€™s T20 final

By Tshering

It was a tense moment for Dechencholing Nazheon and Ugyen Academy to qualify for the first ever Womenโ€™s T20 Club Championship final to be played tomorrow at Pelkhil School ground.
The second runner up was to be decided between Dechencholing Nazheon and Ugyen Academy in the last โ€œdo or dieโ€ game. As the table showed Ugyen Academy was in second spot and Dechencholing Nazheon in third place. Sarpang Strikers have already bagged the place in the finals on Monday.
In the last deciding game, Dechencholing Nazheon won the toss and elected to bat first. Both the opening batsman for Dechencholing Nazheon scored half centuries and set a target of 153 runs in 20 overs without a loss of wicket.
Ugyen Academy needed 154 runs to win at 7.7 run rate per over. They made 112 run but lost four wickets and Dechencholing Nazheon won the match by 41 runs.
Dechen Wangmo from Dechencholing Nazheon club bagged the man of the match for her all round performance for 69 runs and two wickets. Both the teams, won three matches out of five matches played and Dechencholing Nazheon qualified for final due to net run rate of 0.22.
A total of six teams, representing the five districts played the first ever Womenโ€™s T20 Club Championship in Thimphu in collaboration with UNICEF, India Bhutan Foundation and International Cricket Council started last Saturday.

A total of 16 matches were played at the Pelkhil School ground. Sarpang Strikers topped the table and remained unbeaten without a lost in five matches played.
The winner will be awarded a cash prize of Nu 100,000 and Nu 50,000 for the runner up. Prizes also include Player of the tournament, leading scorer, leading wicket taker and emerging player which will be given on final day.
The current leading run scorer and leading wicket taker is Dechen Wangmo from team Dechencholing Nazheon and cash prize are sponsored by India Bhutan foundation.

Leave a Reply